Guest Reviews

At Chestnut Lodge, we take pride in creating a comfortable and relaxing cabin environment in a wonderful location. We hope that you enjoy your stay and we would love to receive reviews from our guests.

Jump to year:

August 2022

Lovely Lodge

This was a really lovely lodge in a very pleasant private park. It was comfy and well equipped internally and had ample outside seating area plus an allocated parking space. It was also nicely located to explore The Cairngorms. We would definitely recommend it to others.

 

– Liz Wainright

August 2022

Absolutely Beautiful

We were so impressed with our week’s stay at Chestnut Lodge. The cabin is compact but beautifully presented, very clean and comfortable. It’s also very well-equipped with everything a family would need for their stay. We enjoyed eating out on the deck furniture in the evenings and even caught a glimpse of a red squirrel. The park feels very secure with the gate key-fob entry system, and the onsite restaurant, The Loft, was lovely for a special meal. The peaceful location is absolutely beautiful with just a short walk to get down to the pebble beach of the River Tilt. We made use of the nearby fish and chip/ pizza shop beside the green in the village and also had breakfast at the local watermill. The couple of local grocery shops are well-stocked and there is a supermarket in nearby Pitlochry. There are several walks nearby and we particularly enjoyed seeing the Bruar Falls, reached from a trail that starts at the House of Bruar, a short drive away. We had excellent communication with the professional and friendly owner.

– Helen Land

August 2022

Fantastic Stay

Steve was incredibly accommodating throughout our stay and was immensely helpful! The lodge was fantastic and cosy, also a stone throw away to some great hikes, would recommend.

– Wilson Gay

July 2022

Wonderful Cabin

Lovely lodge in a beautiful peaceful location. Exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Wonderful cabin to stay in!

– Hazel Elder-Smith

July 2022

Everything We Could Need

Amazing 2 night stay. Everything we could need. Well equipped kitchen for cooking and easy walk in shower. the kids loved the games and the DVDs. We had a great time and it was great value for money.

– Karen Mackay

July 2022

A Tranquil Spot

Spent two days in this accommodation it was well kept in a tranquil spot . We were able to have nice family walks and chill in the sunshine.

– Carole Hepburn

July 2022

Wonderful Log Cabin

A wonderful log cabin in a tranquil spot of Blair Atholl. The cabin has everything you need and was a perfect 2 night stop for us on our way up to the Outer Hebrides. Great position for visiting Pitlochry & Aberfeldy. Great communication from Steve providing us with detailed instructions on arrival.

 

– Matt Lea

July 2022

What a Great Place

What a great place. All in reality matched the pictures and descriptions. So, if you are looking for a great place to stay and use as a bases to explore this part of Scotland, then we can’t recommend it highly enough.

– Mike Taylor

July 2022

A Wonderful Place

Chestnut Lodge is a wonderful place to go hiking or walking nearby (with short driving distances). It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and even offers a few small, unexpected extras. The check-in worked contactless and smoothly. If you have any questions or comments, the host replies quickly and easily. All in all an absolute recommendation!

– Anne and Matthias Mühlisch

June 2022

Beautiful Location

Beautiful location, clear instructions for check in and check out. Cabin was nice – rooms were just a bit smaller than expected. Enjoyed our stay and met some friendly neighbors. Also, the nearby restaurant on the property, The Loft, was the BEST!!!

 

– Angele Giveans-Mills

June 2022

A Must Book Place

Definitely a must book place! Quiet location and very centrally located. Has all the amenities you need!

– Hans Heijdenrijk

June 2022

Great Location

Fantastic lodge. Has everything you might need. Great location for a weekend getaway and lots of lovely things to see and do nearby. We had a lovely weekend and will definitely be back!

– Kirsty Cameron

May 2022

Beautiful Location

We had an amazing stay at Bridge of Tilt. Beautiful location, the lodge was indeed luxury and very clean with comfortable beds and everything you need. Great communication with Steve, providing us with clear instructions on arrival and departure. I would definitely recommend this and can’t wait to book again in the future.

– Alexandra Georgiana

May 2022

Great Cabin

Great cabin near the river and centrally located to get around local area. Clean and welcoming with super comfy beds & bed linen. Host was very prompt in communication and I’d recommend for value for money.

– Elizabeth Logan

May 2022

Amazing Location

Amazing location to explore the local village, and castle and hike by the river.

– Amit Kumar

May 2022

We Loved Staying Here

We loved staying here. Everything we needed in a beautiful and quiet spot. Made good use of the Loft restaurant too! Hope to be back next year.

– Quinn Deans

April 2022

Stunning Place

Fantastic and stunning place to stay for a few days. Steve was great and communicated everything really well.

– Kathryn Dunlop

April 2022

Lovely Cabin

Lovely cabin in a pretty location, ideal for visiting Pitlochry and the surrounding area.

– Karen Mumford

April 2022

Great Little Cabin

Great little cabin on a nice site for a weekend getaway. The accommodation was perfect for what we were looking for with two bedrooms and a good living space. The kitchen was well equipped and the internet was good enough to work from and take video calls.

– Daniel Molesworth

April 2002

Highly Recommended

A very nice, lovely lodge by the river. Everything is very clean. The owner is very considerate, having prepared everything, eg, books and even games for kids. basically it’s like a home. The park itself is also very nice too. Highly recommended.

– Yachuan Yu

April 2022

Very Nice Cottage

Very nice cottage. Nice place to visit the Scottish countryside. Big advantage: the train that stops at Blair Atholl.

– Céline Lintz-Peladan

April 2022

Great Lodge, Great Location

Spent 3 nights here, great lodge in a great location, very secure park. The lodge itself is well serviced with everything you would ever need, extremely comfortable. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

– Colin McDonald

April 2022

Lovely Break

We had a lovely break. The lodge was great and kids had a wonderful time. Looking forward to a return visit.

– Andrew Morris

March 2022

Cosy and Quiet

Lovely three night stay, lodge is cosy, comfortable and warm. Some of the best walks in Highland Perthshire on your doorstep. You can’t go wrong.

– Stephen Murray

March 2022

Lovely Cabin In The Woods

Beautiful location close to some lovely walks. Well equipped and comfortable Lodge with everything we could have needed. We’d recommend and happily return.

– Sarah Cassidy

February 2022

Nice lodge well equipped

Thanks Steve we had a great stay.

– Lolo Bayston

February 2022

Wonderful Time in Blair Atholl

My friends and I had a wonderful time in Blair Atholl! The Airbnb was perfect, and we hope to come again. Thank you so much for providing us with such a nice place. Everything was spotless and we had an amazing time. The Nespresso machine was amazing!

– Satine Walz

February 2022

Great Lodge

Great Lodge, have stayed here two or three times and love it. So relaxing and has everything you need.I highly recommend staying in this lodge.

– Stanley Wylie

January 2022

Great Lodge

Great little lodge in a nice quiet park next to the river. Really well equipped with all the mod cons.

– Elizabeth Aitken

January 2022

A Real Gem

Booked at last minute and was absolutely delighted. I had a query which the owner answered right away, very helpful. The property is amazing, very comfortable with everything you need for your stay and more. A quiet situation but within easy reach of first class eateries and pleasant walks. We parked the car when we arrived and didn’t use it until we left. Definitely want to stay there again.

– Ronald Fletcher

January 2022

Beautiful Lodge

Beautiful lodge & very well equipped for all your needs. Amazing location too – we’ll definitely be back!

– Sandra Davidson

December 2021

Cosy and Peaceful Lodge

Very well equipped, cosy and peaceful lodge! Would highly recommend staying. Super Host with great communication and very helpful.

– Andrew Lee

December 2021

We Will Defo Be Back

Great place to stay with the family, lovely surroundings and very handy for travelling to and from Pitlochry. Steve was great at keeping in contact. We will defo be back in the future.

– Luke Wilson

November 2021

Better Than We Could Have Imagined

A lovely stay with great local attractions. The lodge was spotless and modern, in a lovely location within the caravan park. Walking distance to the local pub and had lots of things to do within a very short drive. Hosts were very kind and helpful, and kept us up to date with the situation in the area following Storm Arwen. Couldnt recommend any more – it was better than we could have imagined!

– Rich Healey

November 2021

Location was Great

Check in and check out was easy. Access to cabin was easy too. Everything was there that we required for a few nights stay away. Location was great, and views lovely. Small shop round the corner to buy bits and pieces for the cabin. Would definitely come back.

– Roslyn Dickson

November 2021

Perfect Location

Perfect location to enjoy everything Blair Atholl has to offer! Steve’s cabin was one of the cosiest we’ve stayed in and would not hesitate staying again!

– Kyle McIntyre

October 2021

Fabulous Place

What a fabulous place to get away for the weekend. Wish I could’ve stayed longer. From the start of the booking process to checking out – was faultless. The lodge is situated right near the river which was lovely to see. Everything is catered for within this gorgeous self catering lodge, it’s spotless & guidance on how to work things are easily to hand. Steve also very kindly supplied a travel cot & high chair for my grand daughter. The lodge itself is perfect for 4 people & the log fire was a delightful treat to coorie in as the weather wasn’t very kind to us. Lovely walk up to Blair Castle with fish n chips to take back & The Loft on site is a must to visit. Our meal was amazing! Oh There are games and dvds as well which was a Lovely touch. I will definitely be returning.

– Patricia Arshad

October 2021

What a Find

Set in an amazing location just yards from the River Tilt and just a short drive into Pitlochry Town. Steve’s cabin is great. Very homely and well equipped. My wife, son and I found it the perfect setting for a short winter break, giving us the chance to explore Loch Ness, The Cairngorms, Avimore and we even found the James Bond Skyfall Road, in Glencoe. I’d thoroughly recommend this cabin and we’d love to come back again.

– Richard Blunt

October 2021

Excellent

I wanted to write a quick review to say the care and effort put into this lodge was excellent. Our kids loved it and it felt like a home from home. Would highly recommend it to any families or couples.

– Louise Joss

September 2021

Cosy Cabin

Lovely cosy cabin. Well equipped with essential amenities. Thank you Steve. We had a great stay. Lovely cabin.

– Anu Lagah

September 2021

Great Holiday

We stayed in chestnut lodge for 3 nights and it was perfect for us, our toddler and newborn. A cot was provided which was great. The place was really cosy and clean inside and in a beautiful setting! There was a nice restaurant on site which was child friendly and you can walk into Blair Atholl in like 5 minutes. Would definitely book again!

– Catherine McNair

September 2021

Great Time

If your looking for a great holiday in a nice peaceful setting The Chestnut Lodge is a great place to stay in very quiet and all the amenities are at hand will definitely be back.

– Brian Watt

September 2021

Fantastic Cabin

Fantastic cabin and great location! Steve was great from start to finish with any questions and super helpful. Would recommend the cabin for a base for adventures in the area. Perfect stay, very impressed and loved the location. Recommended to friends and family.

– James Cavan

September 2021

Excellent Location

Excellent location and very clean and comfortable lodge. Everything we needed was available. Good communication from host prior to stay. 10/10!

– Kelton Ewing

August 2021

Beautiful Lodge

Beautiful lodge in a lovely location, 15 minutes to Pitlochry. We really enjoyed our stay.

– Temidayo Oni-lyiola

August 2021

Fabulous Cabin

Fab cabin for a few days away hiking. The cabin was extremely clean and tidy, the kitchen was very well appointed and the location was great.

– August 2021

August 2021

Fantastic Wee Place

Fantastic wee place to stay if you want a quiet get away or somewhere good to stay as a key point to travel around the area on adventures. Easy to locate, great instructions from the host on getting there as well as for any gadgets in the cabin for use. A comfortable and cosy stay!

– Katherine Muir

August 2021

Lovely Stay at Chestnut Lodge

Just home from a lovely stay at Chestnut Lodge. Communication with Steve was great. The lodge was clean, warm and welcoming and the beds were super comfortable. It was a great base for exploring beautiful Perthshire.

– Joyce Walker

August 2021

Fantastic

We stayed here with our 2 kids aged 5 and 9 and the lodge was brilliant had everything you needed and was every clean. The restaurant on the park was really good and go across the bridge to the fish and chip place at food 8n the park was also very good. Loads to do in and around the area. Great park and walks in pitlochry. We will be returning.

– Adam Brown

August 2021

Excellent Lodge

Excellent lodge in an excellent location. Extremely clean and nice wee welcome gift on arrival. Highly recommend.

– Paul Morrison

July 2021

One of The Best Airbnb’s

One of the best Airbnbs I’ve ever stayed in. Steve was quick to respond, provided helpful tips on the local area and the place beyond exceeded our expectations. Don’t hesitate to stay here!

– Mandy Hayes

July 2021

Clean and Tidy

The lodge is clean and tidy and great for families as there are games and tvs in each room. There is a restaurant on site with great good and service. It is also in a good location for activities near by.

– Mandy Cupples

June 2021

Beautiful Cabin

Beautiful cabin in amazing location! Stayed for the weekend with three friends and we couldn’t recommend it enough for a few nights away. The cabin was spotless and had everything we needed. Beds were super comfy and the terrace was huge which was a real bonus as we had lovely weather. Blair atholl is a great location. The loft restaurant a few minutes walk away is also delicious. Will definitely be back. Communication with Steve was great and really speedy and check in and check out couldn’t have been easier!

– Sarah Doherty

June 2021

Lovely Cabin

A lovely cabin with good facilities, the perfect base for our hill walking trip!

– Craig Walker

June 2021

Lovely Place

We enjoyed our stay at the lodge. It is in a beautiful location with lots of walks close by. It was very clean and comfortable, and suited our family of four well. The host was very responsive and was happy to answer any questions that we had.

– Jade Reid

June 2021

Great Lodge

Great lodge and well equipped which made for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

– Jamie O’Boyle

May 2021

Very Well Appointed

Very well appointed luxury stay. Fantastic inside and out, with sunny terrace.

– Gordon MacWalter

May 2021

Lovely Cabin

Lovley cabin in a scenic location. Lovely touches such as coffee machine with coffee pods was very appreciated.

– Gemma Somerville

May 2021

Fantastic Cabin

Fantastic cabin in a excellent location. Really enjoyed our stay.

– Colin Devlin

May 2021

Great Place to Stay

Chestnut Lodge is a great place to stay. Amenities were great and lodge was very clean. Location is also fantastic – we loved watching the birds and red squirrels pass by.

– Jenny Campbell

May 2021

Terrific Lodge in a Great Location

Located within the Moorings, at the River Tilt Park, Chestnut Lodge is a terrific base to explore Perthshire and beyond. Chestnut Lodge is very modern, has all the facilities required and is cleaned to a high standard. Hand sanitisers are located at the entrance to the Lodge and throughout the park. The on site restaurant “The Loft” is worth a visit.

– Tom Giblin

May 2021

Had a Fantastic Weekend

Had a fantastic weekend here. A lovely chalet in a fab location. Very clean, comfortable and stylish accommodation. I would thoroughly recommend a visit. Nearby Golf club and atholl arms hotel both now opened up for outdoor drinks and food (and indoor food and non alcoholic drink) with marquees and patio heaters to see off the chilly temperatures! The loft restaurant at entrance to park is also open but didn’t get a chance to try this.

– Christopher Paton

November 2020

Lovely Homely Cabin

Lovely homely cabin. So clean as if everything was brand new. Steve was so considerate of our needs and really accommodating of COVID-19 safety measures. We also loved the shortbread you left us on arrival with welcome pack. We’ll definitely be back.

– Kathleen McKenna

November 2020

Perfect Relaxing Retreat

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish it had been for longer! The lodge is perfect both in terms of amenities and location which is idyllic and exceeded our expectations. It was wonderful to wake up on a morning and sit in front of the wood burning stove with a cuppa watching all the birds and red squirrels outside. We went on lots of walks in the surrounding area including along the river and also up to the grounds of Blair Atholl Castle. We also ate at the Loft restaurant which we would thoroughly recommend. All in all this was a perfect break and we are so glad to have discovered this lodge. It was just what we needed after all the stresses of this year so far. We will definitely be back!

– Carole & Rob Kennedy

October 2020

Stunning and snug lodge

Loved our stay at Chestnut Lodge – we love Blair Atholl and this is a beautiful lodge and a great base. We had red squirrels on the balcony every morning and very peaceful. Also brilliant correspondence from the owners and felt very safe with all the measures in place for Covid-19. Thank you.

– Sam McMillan

October 2020

Great lodge, very modern and clean

The fire was a lovely touch for the cosy evenings. Really good location, lots of outdoor walk and local attractions to visit. Fantastic communication from Steve and always on hand for any queries 🙂

– Lesley Cameron

September 2020

Great, clean lodge

Thanks for letting us stay, lodge was great, clean lodge, speedy response to queries.

– Ross Henderson

September 2020

Cracking lodge in a perfect spot

The park is situated less than 15mins walk from Blair Athol train station and the lodge itself is 5mins from reception. It was fully kitted out with everything we could have possibly needed. Plenty sockets for my 2 boys’ tablets/switch/mobile chargers 🙂 and free wifi – which makes or breaks a holiday for an 8 and 10yr old!! The wood burning gas fire was such a treat and made it so cosy. It was spotless and really couldn’t fault anything. We would absolutely return.

– Kenneth McDade

September 2020

Highly recommended

Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break away.

– Katie Bremner

September 2020

Everything was perfect

We had a wonderful time at Chestnut lodge. Everything was perfect even the weather. Would highly recommend a stay here and plan to come back in the near future.

– Christine Rankin

September 2020

Excellent location and perfect lodgeLocation is next to a river and not far from the village and golf course. Wildlife is amazing especially the red squirrels. Plenty of walks and lots to do.

Location is next to a river and not far from the village and golf course. Wildlife is amazing especially the red squirrels. Plenty of walks and lots to do.

– James Campbell

September 2020

Fantastic stay!

Another fantastic stay at chestnut lodge. It was spotlessly clean, so comfortable and just the perfect location. A wonderful stay once again and already planning our next trip!.

– Rebecca Maxwell

September 2020

Chestnut lodge has great amenities

Chestnut lodge has great amenities and some thoughtful extra touches such as a DVD player and a selection of DVDs. The check in and out process was easy enough thanks to the helpful emails to keep us informed of what we needed to do. The lodge had perfect views of the River Tilt and close to some other locations to explore such as The Hermitage. Highly recommend a stay here if you get the chance. Can’t wait to go back again!

– Natalie Bevan

September 2020

Lovely lodge

Lovely lodge in a great location, walkable to Blair Atholl. Great facilities and all very clean – we’ll be back soon!

– Katy Dyson

August 2020

Fantastic lodge

Fantastic accommodation and facilities highly recommended.

– Jill Hogg

August 2020

Wonderful cabin

A beautiful part of Scotland and a wonderful cabin to base yourself. Thank you for an easy and straightforward stay.

– Catherine Smith

August 2020

Lovely spacious lodge

Chestnut Lodge is a lovely, spacious lodge with good access to local walking trails. My partner and I had a relaxing time and couldn’t have enjoyed our time more. If you’re looking for a quiet space to get away – would recommend!

– Temeeka Linton

August 2020

Terrific Lodge in a great location

We stayed in the Chestnut Lodge for 5 nights and it was excellent. Starting with basics, everything within the lodge was spotless and had obviously been fully cleaned, which was reassuring. The equipment within the lodge was very modern and to a high standard. This included free Wifi, a Sonos sound system, a decent collection of DVD’s and many board games. More natural entertainment was provided by the range of birds which visited the decking area along with the regular red squirrel. The lodge is located in a very quiet area, so is ideal if you are looking for a nice relaxing getaway.

 

– Fiona Fyfe

July 2020

Break with Grandkids

Thoroughly enjoyed our break with grandkids in Chestnut lodge , all mod cons and games provided for kids were very helpful, immaculate throughout, would highly recommend

– Guy Henderson

July 2020

Would highly recommend

This place is amazing, would highly recommend. Very professionally managed, great location, good communication, spotlessly clean, zero complaints. Many thanks Steve, we will be back.

– Peter Gabriel

July 2020

Fantastic cabin and a beautiful site

A fantastic cabin and a beautiful site. All of the communication with Steve was excellent particularly around Covid guidelines which reassured us. The cabin itself was in a beautiful setting and was spotless. Lovely touches like the coffee machine and shortbread made us very welcome. We had lovely weather and were able to make use of the large decking area. Gorgeous walks were easily accessible and we particularly loved the Blair Castle grounds. We would highly recommended the takeaway in the park ‘Food to Go’. Had a lovely weekend and hope to be back soon.

 

– Kathryn Boag

March 2020

Nice time

Me and my wife had a nice time at the chestnut lodge it was very clean and tidy with everything that you needed had plenty of gadgets we would definitely think of going again

– Andy Kinnaird

January 2020

John Brookman

The recent stay was very relaxing as usual! Looking forward to the February trip already and of course the longer stay next January will be the ideal cure for another stressful year in London.

– John Brookman

January 2020

Excellent and modern lodge

We stayed in January and the lodge was super warm with everything you need included. We will definitely be back in the summer. Lovely lodge and location.

– Harry Paterson

January 2020

Would definitely return

Lovely cabin with plenty to do in surrounding area.

– Kimberley Mclachlan

December 2019

Perfect

My partner and I have been talking about getting a wee weekend away for a while and came across chestnut lodge. It’s the perfect little getaway. Warm little cabin with a full kitchen, gas fire, large TV, double bed and twin room. It’s in a beautiful location with the river tilt running along side. There is a wonderful restaurant called “The Loft” situated within the park grounds with a great selection of food and wines. Pitlochry centre is also a short drive from the lodge with plenty cafes and restaurants. I’m sure we will be back!

– Jake Rowland

November 2019

10/10 thank you

Perfect accommodation, my family and I didn’t want to leave! We thoroughly enjoyed our last nights in Scotland in your accommodation.

– Ellen Drummond

October 2019

Excellent

I stayed here recently and found the lodge was perfect. It is in a great location with plenty to do around the area and not to far to drive to Pitlochry. Would definitely stay again.

– Joanne Taylor

October 2019

A well equipped and very comfortable lodge

The facilities were excellent. Highlights were the coffee machine, rain shower, log effect gas fire and very comfy beds! We also used the swimming pool for a small charge, which was clean and warm. Would highly recommend a stay in Chestnut Lodge.

– Linzi Kelly

October 2019

Excellent lodge

The lodge is of an excellent quality and includes everything you would need for your stay. The state of the lodge was immaculate. Great wifi, Sonos speaker, TV, Blue-ray player. Lovely and cosy with a very nice gas log fire and heating system.

– Stanley Wylie

October 2019

We really enjoyed our stay

The place was beautiful and spotless. The swimming pool was a bonus and the kids loved it! It was greatly located to explore the area. Everything from getting there to check in/out and communication with the owner was easy and fast. Highly recommend it.

– Larraitz Ayarza

September 2019

Wonderful stay

Visited for a family break with parents, partner and 5 month old baby. Chestnut lodge had everything we needed and more! Wonderful spotless facilities, great surroundings and the comfiest beds! Would highly recommend and we will definitely be returning. A great find!

– Rebecca Maxwell